

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RACING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 21st June 2015



Strength · Speed · Stamina

Fernando Bale makes it 13 Wins in a Row

By Jeff Collerson GRNSW Website

Fernando Bale's race record smashing win in Saturday night's final of the Group 1 Rapidvite Peter Mosman Classic was his finest performance and had even trainer Andrea Dailly's peers in awe.

Fernando Bale stopped the clock at an awesome 29.27, an incredible 0.20 faster than the race record set by Xylia Allen in 2013.

That is the equivalent of three lengths quicker than the time recorded by Australia's record stakes earner and was 0.07 inside Fernando Bale's previous best Wentworth Park figures.

The Classic was another triumph for trainer Dailly, who trained another group race trifecta when Dyna Double One chased Fernando Bale home and the champion's litter sister Elfen Bale finished third after jumping in front.

Fernando Bale headed off Elfen Bale at the first turn where Dyna Double One, after making his best start to a race, sat in a close third position.

Dyna Double quickly swept past Elfen Bale but could make no impression on Fernando Bale, who carved out splits of 13.51 and 17.58.

As much as \$1.50 was bet about Fernando Bale after big money came from Dyna Double One, who firmed from \$7 to \$5.50 and for No Donuts (\$8 to \$6.50).

NSW owner-trainer Brad Canty plunged \$15,000 on No Donuts but after a moderate getaway from box one the top local hope was never in the hunt and finished fifth.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABINB ASSUBIATION

Fernando Bale is now likely to tackle Sunday's heats of the Group 2 Bendigo Cup in preference to Thursday's Group 1 Garrards Winter Cup heats at Brisbane's Albion Park.

After the Bendigo Cup series, Dailly will aim Fernando Bale for the Group 1 Hudson Pacific Maturity Classic series at The Meadows, which begins with heats on July 11.

"Although the Brisbane race is worth more than the Bendigo Cup Fernando Bale has never been in a plane before," Andrea Dailly's husband Tom said on Saturday night.

"We know he is going to have to be flown eventually but at this stage Bendigo and The Meadows are the preferred options."

First run in 1952 as the Bi Annual Classic, the series was re-named in honour of former GBOTA Chairman Peter Mosman in 1988.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Tullabung Honey (\$34.60), 5th No Donuts (\$6.50), 6th Camacho (\$30.50) 7th Kenju Bale (\$51.20) and Dear Darcey (\$54.60).

Fernando Road is raced by Paul Wheeler and trained by Andrea Dailly he is a White & Dark Brindle dog whelped March 2013 by Kelos Fusileer from Chloe Bale (Malawi's Prince x Burgundy Bale). Fernando Bale has won 21 of his 25 starts and has been placed on two occasions after the first prize of \$75,000 for the Peter Mosman his current stake earnings stand at \$629,840.

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987. Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of Black Top 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan's Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How's The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004), Tuiaki (2010) and a trio of Wheeler owned winners Allen Harper, Garrick Bale and the mighty Xylia Allen before last year's winner Bessy Boo. Below is the honour roll in full.

1952 Robin Buchanan, 1953 Miss Oakey, 1954 Farrago Hawk, 1955 Proto Girl, 1956 Double Jade, 1957 Fine Earl, 1958 Town Ghost, 1959 Tell You Why, 1960 Classy Jane, 1961 Silver Khan, 1962 Nimble Aye, 1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Sudden Linen, 1965 Satyr Rocket,1966 Perfect Socks, 1967 Dark Durante, 1968 Rokoko, 1969 Silent Ring, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Alray Lad, 1972 Toouli, 1973 Dusty Trail, 1974 Early Copy, 1975 Arctic Raider, 1976 Proper Calibre, 1977 Ripa's Regard, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 Dick's Gem, 1981 Merry Tempest, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 Crathie Drive, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Yob Yobbo, 1987 Paris In Spring, 1988 Kinjarra, 1989 Style Leader, 1990 Classy Spider, 1991 Farmer Wilson, 1992 How's The Fort, 1993 Worthy Reward, 1994 Tap Dance1995 Patchtime, 1996 Casino Jack, 1997 William Wallace, 1998 Solve The Puzzle, 1999 Great Wish, 2000 Token Wave, 2001 Winsome Dollars, 2002 Big Sam Banner, 2003 Elite State, 2004 Surf Lorian, 2005 Over Flo, 2006 Faithful Love, 2007 Run The Risk, 2008 Lend Us Fifty, 2009 Devine Road, 2010 Tuiaki, 2011 Allen Harper, 2012 Garrick Bale, 2013 Xylia Allen and 2014 Bessy Boo.

Thanks for story content in the above release GRNSW Website

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown
AGRA Publicity Officer
Tel: 03 97691234
Mob: 0423 129 950
nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100

Mob: 0438 042 838